Canadian icon Wickenheiser named player of the year

Canadian icon Wickenheiser named player of the year

Photo credit Adam Gagnon

WATERLOO, Ont. (CIS) – First-year University of Calgary forward Hayley Wickenheiser was named the Canadian Interuniversity Sport player of the year in women's hockey, Wednesday night.

The native of Shaunavon, Sask., became the first-ever Dino to claim the Brodrick Trophy as CIS MVP. A three-time Olympic gold medallist and six-time world champion, Wickenheiser returned to school last September to complete her degree in kinesiology.

Other CIS major award winners announced at the All-Canadian Banquet at the Turret Lounge on the campus of Wilfrid Laurier University were St. Francis Xavier forward Alex Normore of Bedford, N.S., who was named the nation's top rookie; Brock's Jim Denham of Mississauga, Ont., who claimed coach-of-the-year honours; as well as Mount Allison's Andrea Switalski of Stittsville, Ont., who received the Marion Hilliard Award recognizing excellence in hockey, academics and community involvement.

The 2011 CIS championship gets under way on Thursday in Waterloo, Ont., with the first of three days of round-robin action, and culminates on Sunday at 7:30 p.m. with the gold-medal final. SSN Canada will have live webcasts of all nine games from the tournament.

Championship website:

Video courtesy of Laurier Athletics

Video has no source Url